Tags

, , , , , ,

There are crazy drivers all over the world. I remember speeding in and out of cars in a tuk tuk on the busy streets of Bangkok, and even in my own little version of a tuk tuk (a Hyundai excel) I was perhaps one of the crazier drivers thinking I could get away with illegal three point turns, or speedy overtakes of big, long lorry trucks.

Here in Italy there has been more than a couple of times when I have second guessed my chances of surviving the ride. Here, where second line parking is a thing and people are prone to stop in the middle of a four lane road to ask for directions, I’ve realised fully the chances taken when getting into these small little metal boxes they call cars.

 

I’ve heard a Neapolitan freely admit that Neapolitan drivers are considered the worst in Italy. From my experience – yes. Anything goes. Road lines are non existent, cars are just big glorified bumper cars, other drivers are idiots and don’t know what they are doing. One time in particular, in Napoli I was driven around by a Neapolitan grandfather with little but illustrative English. Small streets, big city traffic, ‘other idiots’ and the need to talk with hands was a scary combination.

Another time on a road trip to Milan, I experienced the autostrada (highway) from the very cramped backseat of a Hyundai getz. Seven hour drive with two guys we barely knew and my two friends. We began the drive at 8pm. It was this trip in which I learnt that small engined cars can indeed be pushed up to 140-150 km/h if one crazy driver so desired.

This and another eight hour car trip to Terento also solidified that road lines are invisible and it’s ok to float somewhere in between the correct lane and the middle of the road.

One of my bucket list of things to do while in Rome is to drive a scooter… I haven’t quite gotten around to that yet.

