Tags

, , , ,

Ten months on from leaving Australia and once again I am saying goodbye. This time to Rome and the close friends I’ve made there.

My last week in Rome was a whirl wind of activity. In between working, packing my room and organising everything to leave, I also had a friend visiting and was intent on showing him all of my favourite things and places in Rome. Not forgetting that I still had one last thing to tick off my list of things to do in Rome – drive a scooter.

Rome at night

Over that week, somehow I managed to fit everything in. I showed him my favourite area for second-hand shopping, to have a coffee and drinks at night, just my favourite area in Rome in general really, San Lorenzo; Trastevere for beautifully Italian, small, cobbled stone streets and excellent night-time river views; Gianicolo, a great lookout over Rome; and the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel.

I can now proudly say that I’ve driven a scooter through the madness of Roman traffic and I wish I did this much earlier, it is a fantastic way to get around and dodging in between cars and becoming part of the scooter posse is fabulous fun! If you have a head for coping with the crazy traffic, I highly recommend it. 

My first time on a scooter, shaky at first, but after getting used to it, it’s fantastic fun!

It was really sad to say goodbye to my life in Rome, especially my friends. Arriving in Sweden to weather that was below five degrees and having to find a hostel in the rain didn’t make my goodbye any easier. However, the wonderful world of travel pulled through and on the back of the toilet door in the hostel was this very timely (if not strangely placed) quote:

Don’t be dismayed at goodbyes, farewells are necessary for meeting again and meeting again after moments or lifetimes is certain between those who are friends.

So I’ve said goodbye, but again, only with the pretence that I’ll see you soon.

