Tags

, , ,

And that’s how I’ve been introducing the concept to everyone I’ve met travelling who have not yet heard of it. Classy right?

You might be sitting there wondering what the hell wwoofing is. Well, just like a dog… No, I’m kidding, finally, now that I’ve got some blogging time on my hands, it’s time to get serious! Wwoofing isΒ this community of farmers who open their houses and land to travellers who are willing to work for board and food. It’s world wide, but as I was in Europe, I chose to go north, as far north as I dared considering I still wanted a respectable level of warmth. Crazy, as I ended up working, in the middle of summer in jeans and a long sleeved shirt.

Did I say working? I meant checking out the sights whilst downing a cold one.

So there I was, at the beginning of my European summer at a beautiful, very old Swedish horse farm, waking up at 6.30am, living with two other wwoofers, learning about life on a horse stud. As tiring as it was, to go from no physical work to working outside all day, it was a fantastic experience and a great way to travel.

The beautiful old farm house the wwoofers lived in

During our time off, I learnt about the Swedish culture and was amused to find that in summer the little Swedish babies sleep outside in their pram. You might think that because you actually have to work to earn your keep, there would be no time for actual touristy things like sight see, well I guess it all depends on your hosts, but on our time off we could do as we please and after work, we occasionally all went together for some sight seeing.

This tough little blonde Swedish girl took her naps in her pram outside. I took mine curled up under a couple of blankets with the heater on :/

I learnt a lot of things wwoofing and did a lot of things I had not done before. Alongside learning about the horses, I can now drive a tractor, change diapers/nappies (due to the five different nationalities living on the farm, certain words needed clarification!), I took the young stallion for a walk, I fixed a shower, cleaned a compost toilet and called on what little arm strength I had moving branches and logs clearing paddocks.

Yeah, I helped moved these logs.

Wwoofing was awesome, and although this summer, for me the temperature never went above 25 degrees, I am glad I spent two of those summer weeks in the North, sometimes working in a hoodie. I can’t wait for my next opportunity to Wwoof, next time it will be for much longer than just two weeks.

Until next time πŸ™‚

